Explained: Why Tom Hartley was given not out despite the umpire’s call being out on DRS
India bounced back in style to win the second Test match at Visakhapatnam and draw level in the 5-match Test series. The third umpire then checked for LBW and it was found that the impact on the forearm was ‘umpire’s call’ and as per ball tracking, the stumps too were disturbed. Clarification: The on-field umpire had initially called ‘NOT OUT’ on the LBW decision, and hence, when the ball hit Hartley’s hand and the wicket on ‘UMPIRE’S CALL’ his decision stayed. • 3rd umpire said ‘out caught’ • For any other mode of dismissal ‘the process…shall be conducted as if…given Not Out.’ Out caught = not out LBW = umpire’s call on LBW is not out.#INDvENG🏏🇮🇳🏴#WTC25 pic.twitter.com/qybVFsF0g0 — Nakul Pande February 5, 2024 As per ICC playing conditions, the umpires need to examine all possible modes of dismissals during the use of the Decision Review System. Now, since the initial appeal was around the catch, the on-field umpire’s LBW decision stands at ’not out’ status, resulting in Hartley being declared not out according to the umpire’s call.

AUS vs IND, 1st Test: KL Rahul given out after controversial Australia DRS review










Discover Related

Mark Chapman ruled out of third ODI vs Pakistan due to hamstring injury

Cricket-Delhis Du Plessis has no complaints about impact player rule

‘Asian Bradman’ Zaheer Abbas bats for India vs Pakistan bilateral series

MS Dhoni admits storming onto field in no-ball fiasco was a 'big mistake': 'When you're angry, keep your mouth shut'

IND vs NZ: Top-Order Collapse! India In Trouble; Lose Three Quick Wickets—WATCH

Justice for Arshdeep Singh: Fans fume over India's selection call vs New Zealand

Gavaskar irked with Kohli's rule violation during Ind-Pak match

Rohit Sharma plans to take Axar Patel out for 'dinner' after drop catch on hat-trick

Cricket-Australia's Kuhnemann to sit out Shield match ahead of bowling action tests
